The City Assembly is the highest body which performs basic local self-government role, guaranteed by the Constitution, Law and the Statute of the City.

The City Assembly consists of 87 councilors who are voted on immediate elections by ballot. Decisions are made by majority of votes if it is not otherwise specified by the Law or the Statute of the city.

The highest legal act of the City is the Statute, which sets out the mode, terms and forms of implementation of the rights and jurisdictions of the City.